Bad News Bears

 

Me, around 4:30 p.m. when I'm hungry

Last night I had the most vivid dreams about bears.  There were scary, murderous bears on the loose in Toronto that were eating people and otherwise roaming around public places in a threatening way.  For some reason, the police or animal control were not present.  I was supposed to meet my boyfriend at a mall and there was a bear at the entrance, looming ominously in a pool of blood and human heads. Gross, I know.  The overall feeling in the dream was one of dread, impending danger and slowly escalating fear, as though the bears stood for something larger than themselves.

It’s not often that I dream about bears.  Dolphins, whales, porpoises, and other sea life, but never bears.  I have recurring images in my dreams of staring out at a body of water, whether it be the ocean or Lake Ontario, and catching a glimpse of fins in the distance, thousands and thousands of these mysterious underwater creatures.  The feeling in these dreams is always surreal, exciting, and as though I’ve discovered some great secret.

I’m a huge animal lover, so it’s no surprise that they frequent my dreaming life.  I decided to look over at Dream Moods to see if they could offer any interpretations.

Here’s what they had to say about bears:

To see a bear in your dream, symbolizes independence, the cycle of life, death and renewal. It may signal a period of introspection and thinking. The dream may also be a pun on “bare.” Perhaps you need to bare your soul and let everything out into the open.

To dream that you are being pursued or attached by a bear, denotes aggression, overwhelming obstacles and competition. You may find yourself in a threatening situation.

Well, I’m going to be without a job pretty soon and am not sure what the New Year holds, so does that count as overwhelming obstacles? 

Nice tail, whale!

When I asked my mom about dreaming of dolphins and whales, she mentioned something about spirituality. Dream Moods confirms this:

To see a whale in your dream, represents your intuition and awareness. You are in tune to your sense of spirituality. Alternatively, it indicates a relationship or business project that is too enormous to handle. You may be feeling overwhelmed. The dream may also be a pun on “wailing” and a desire to cry out about something.

To see a dolphin in your dream, symbolizes spiritual guidance, your intellect, mental attributes and emotional trust. Utilize your mind to its capacity and you will move upward in life. Alternatively, it suggests that a line of communication has been established between the conscious and unconscious aspects of yourself. Dolphins represent your willingness and ability to explore and navigate through your emotions.

To see an ocean in your dream, represents the state of your emotions and feelings. It is indicative of some spiritual refreshment, tranquility and renewal.

I also have recurring dreams of being pursued by someone in a huge house or mansion. They’re always so close to catching me, but as I run through the house, I can lucid dream and create secret doors, rooms, and escapes. There’s a sense of danger to these dreams, but also a sense of thrill. 

To dream that you are being chased, signifies that you are avoiding a situation that you do not think is conquerable. It is often a metaphor for some form of insecurity.

I’m a firm believer in the power of dreams and what they have to say about our waking lives.  Some can even be prophetic.  While some dreams can be what we called in Psychology 101 “pizza dreams,” (ie. they have more to do with what you ate before you fell asleep than your subsconscious mind), most of my dreams are too vivid to ignore.

How about you?  Do you have any recurring dreams that you’ve always wanted to interpret?

2 thoughts on “Bad News Bears

  1. Ashley says:

    The dreams I remember most are often weird ones. Like the dream I had about the kids from Glee teaching a bunch of bears to sing. I gotta say though, those bears didn’t have much range, but they had good harmony. Or the Star Trek/Care Bears cross over dream…. yeah, that one was WEIRD.

    While I sometimes don’t remember what I dreamed about, I often remember how I felt in the dream, especially if it’s a bad dream. Sometimes it will be so bad that it will put my mood off for the whole day.

Leave a Reply

